20 Foods You Can Eat On A Gluten-Free Diet


gluten-free foods

Gluten-free diets have become popular in recent years, as an increasing number of people are diagnosed with gluten sensitivities or gluten allergies. While there are some foods that are inherently gluten-free, such as fruits and vegetables, there are also many processed foods that have been re-packaged as gluten-free. In this article, we explore some of the best gluten-free foods you can eat.

This list points out 20 gluten-free foods that you can eat in order to stick to your gluten-free diet. We give examples of each gluten-free food below.

1. Oats

A close up of food on a plate

Oats have gluten in them, but gluten-free oats are becoming more popular and widely available. Just be sure to read labels if you want gluten-free oats!

2. Rice

A dog that is lying down and looking at the camera

Rice is gluten-free, so there’s nothing stopping you from eating your favorite gluten-free dishes that contain rice! Although not gluten-free, wild rice is gluten-free and even healthy!

3. Almonds

Almonds are gluten-free nuts that you can use in salads or for snacking purposes. Just be sure they’re gluten-free, as most pre-packaged almonds contain gluten!

4. Soy Sauce

Soy sauce doesn’t usually contain gluten, but you’ll want to double-check the label just to be sure. If it doesn’t have gluten ingredients, then soy sauce is a good way to give flavor to your favorite dishes. You can also use gluten-free tamari sauce if it has been specifically labeled gluten-free by the manufacturer. For example, San-J makes gluten-free soy sauce.

5. Coconut Milk

Instead of using cow’s milk, gluten-free coconut milk is a good gluten-free into sour cream and yogurt.

6. Quinoa

If you’re sick of rice, gluten-free quinoa is a good gluten-free alternative that provides more protein than most other gluten-free grains. You can use it in salads or rice when cooking with gluten-free ingredients! It does require extra work to make though, so proceed with caution if you don’t want to spend too much time in the kitchen! Here are some tips on how to cook quinoa.

7. Xanthan Gum

Xanthan gum is gluten-free (and vegan!), but it works like flour supplements when used to bind gluten-free foods together. While gluten-free foods don’t always have gluten, xanthan gum is made from gluten. You can find gluten-free recipes where baked goods use xanthan gum as a gluten-replacer, but the taste isn’t quite as good as gluten!

8. Agar-Agar

If you’re tired of eggs and want to make vegan gluten-free dishes, try using agar-agar for some gelling action. It’s usually gluten-free as well as vegan and vegetarian-friendly!

9. Brown Sugar

Even though brown sugar has gluten in it, there are also some brands that produce gluten-free brown sugar on the market. If you keep up with your dental hygiene on a gluten diet, we would recommend gluten-free brown sugar for gluten-free desserts.

10. Arrowroot Powder

Not to be confused with gluten-containing wheat, gluten-free arrowroot powder is gluten-free and used as a gluten substitute in gluten-free baking.

11. Guar Gum

If you’re looking for something that will be easy on your stomach and taste great at the same time, gluten-fee guar gum is gluten-free and great for baked goods like cakes or bread. Just keep an eye out since it’s also found in pre-packaged foods! You can find some gluten-free recipes that use this unique gluten replacement here.

12. Beans

Beans are naturally gluten-free, so there’s no need to worry about gluten-free beans during your gluten-free diet.

13. Xanthan Gum

We mentioned gluten-free xanthan gum above as a gluten replacer, but it isn’t the only gluten-replacer you can use for gluten-free baking! Guar gum is another gluten replacer from the same family as xanthan gum.

14. Coconut Aminos

This is a type of seasoning sauce that usually just has soy and coconut as the main ingredients. It does not contain gluten, so feel free to give this one a shot if you’re tired of soy sauce or just want to eat healthier foods in general! You can find gluten-free recipes that use coconut aminos here. Oh – and one more gluten-free soy sauce alternative to consider is gluten-free tamari sauce.

15. Agave Syrup

Even though agave syrup originates from gluten-containing plants, raw unprocessed versions of the syrup are gluten-free by default! Note that most manufacturers get around gluten ingredients with other glutenous grains like wheat or barley malt, so be sure to check the label carefully for any gluten sources if you’re trying to maintain a strict gluten diet. After all, an ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure in this case!

16. Arrowroot Flour

Arrowroot flour might not be gluten-free in itself, but it can make some awesome gluten-free baked goods when combined with things like gluten-free gluten and gluten-free baking powder since it doesn’t have any gluten itself!

17. Nutritional Yeast

Gluten-free bread crumbs are usually made from gluten-free bread. If you can’t find gluten-free bread crumbs at your local grocery store though, gluten-free nutritional yeast might be a good alternative for gluten-free pasta.

18. Chickpea Flour

Sometimes called gram flour or besan flour, gluten-free chickpea flour is commonly used in Indian cuisine instead of wheat flour. It’s usually used to make savory pancakes or flatbreads that are high in protein too! If gluten isn’t an issue for you but dairy is, check out these gluten-free Indian gluten-free vegetarian recipes.

19. Cocoa Powder

Cocoa powder is gluten-free, to begin with, so feel free to use it in gluten-free desserts without worrying about gluten! Just make sure you always get pure cocoa powder instead of generic chocolate-flavored powders since those might contain gluten or other glutenous grains. You can find some gluten-free recipes that use cocoa powder here.

20. Arrowroot Starch

This gluten-free starch is great for thickening sauces and soups while cooking, but can also be used as a replacement for things like cornstarch if you’re looking for something healthier. You can even mix arrowroot starch with baking soda to make your own non-toxic gluten-free baking powder!

That’s all the gluten-free foods you can eat, for now. If you have any gluten-free recipes with gluten-free ingredients that you’d like to share, please feel free to post them in the comments section.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter